10 Apps That All Knowledge Lovers MUST-HAVE On Their Mobiles.


I am bad with writing. No, really. There are times when I sit down to put to paper the umpteen thoughts that quibble their way through my cerebrum, but I fail. Miserably. Each time. But it doesn’t sadden me, for I am a mere mortal who strives to find herself through each piece of writing.

So, what do I do? I do what most other people my age do. I take to my phone, the only companion that never leaves my side. It goes everywhere with me. Even to the bathroom. If I’m on the computer, it plops itself right in front of me. When I wake up, it reminds me about all the ‘this-is-what-you-have-to-do-today’ things. Midway through the day, my phone tells me I should have more greens on my plate. It is a different thing that I seldom heed the wonderful advice. But you get my point, right?

Technically, my smart phone is smarter than me; and I’m a stupid dingus. LOL.

Well, and this is what I do on the phone. I read. About what someone on the other side of the globe is writing. About something that happens to me the same way it happens to someone else ten years younger than me. About somewhere I’ve never been. About how bombs are killing one part of the world, while a mere mosquito is killing another. About how one start-up accidentally minted 200 million dollars, while another has its hopes pinned on crowd-funding. About how someone else is writing their mind without a block similar to mine. Its like the old adage that says the world is an ocean, and what you know of it is a mere drop.

So, yes, here are 10 apps that I truly love reading :

1. Medium –

Every week, thousands of writers take to this blogging platform to share their thoughts, ideas and stories. Trust me when I say that this story sharing and consuming platform has gorgeous content.

1-olyyc2e5j_tt04qsuolfxa

 

 2. Stumble Upon –

It is a discovery engine that offers you the easiest way to discover really cool content that is personalized to your tastes.

stumbleupon

 

3. Pinterest –

It is a visual bookmarking tool that helps you discover and save ideas for projects, plans and schemes you intend to implement. From DIY projects to recipes to interior decoration ideas for your house, you have it all.

This is a screenshot of my profile, which evidently proves my addiction.

a

 

4. Drippler –

At its core, it is a mobile content aggregator, but beyond that – it is a brilliant platform that lets you stay one step ahead with the latest technology updates, tips, apps, accessories and much more. Surely a treat for anyone tech-savvy.

screen-shot-2015-09-23-at-4-18-07-pm-1024x612

 

5. Feedly –

Undoubtedly my favourite RSS reader, this amazing application lets you organize all your favorite publications, podcasts and YouTube channels into collections and receive updates when new stories and videos arrive. It is a really productive way to organize, read and share the content of your favorite feeds, blogs and news sites.

screen-shot-2013-03-21-at-10-51-08-pm

 

6. Flipboard –

Flipboard is your personal magazine. It lets you follow things you care about. What stands out is its gorgeous interface that gives you the exact feeling of flipping through the pages of a real magazine.

This app has been localised in more than 20 languages and thus, amassed 50 million monthly users on mobile devices world over.

flipboard-cover-stories-redesign-image-001

 

7. Scroll.in –

This is by far the best news reading application I’ve come across on the Play Store. It is a digital daily of political and cultural news, that focusses on Indian analyses, reportage and commentary.

scroll-in_

 

8. Primer –

It has been an year since Google launched this app that gives a fast, easy way aimed at teaching start-ups new mini-marketing skills. It offers 5-minute lessons you can do anywhere. I totally love this.

primerapp

 

9. Tumblr –

This micro-blogging platform and social networking website is a stand out combination that assures you the most unique reads online.

tumblr-dashboard

 

10. Buzzfeed –

This application redefined online advertising with its social, content-driven publishing technology. More importantly, how can we forget that it gave us LISTicles, and gave birth to ScoopWhoop, StoryPick and the likes.

buzzfeed

 

So yes, I hope this serves as a good knowledge sink source for you. Go to your Play Store and click ‘INSTALL’ right away. Your phone will love you for educating it the cooler way. 😉

Until next time, seeya folks.

Leave a Reply

