Six Burps, Two Coffees and A Tablespoon Of ‘Heath Ledger’.


Five assignments, three lab files, eight tutorials, three phone calls and seven articles, that’s what I shirked to get here.

Today was another one of those ‘my life is like a broken record that refuses to stop playing’ days. One alarm, ten snoozes, five minutes to class and you’re still brushing, managing to enter the class just before the clock ticks 9:30, goofing around on your phone trying not to be caught by the teacher, the monotony of the forty bucks lunch, the entire ‘I-would-spit-on-classes-if-not-for-the-attendance’ mania that you’re constantly trying to suppress, the 5 pm recess bell that is nothing less than the beckoning of heavens, the one sandwich that you crave to eat but end up hating because the ‘aloo’ is stale and the moment with this laptop where my fingers are perennially on the go. At this juncture, I have given up my last shred of dignity and thus, will not hesitate to claim that while I’m typing this out, I am extinguishing the sixth burp I’ve had in the last two minutes. Whoever said, “Why fart and waste it when you can burp and taste it”. Gosh, I also want to admit that my last line was so gut-churning that I almost stifled my seventh burp. Okay, enough; and my mind soothes its senses as I gulp down my second coffee.

So, today was one of those ‘I-haven’t-blogged-for-a-while-now..daaammmnnnniiittt!’ days, and here I am, trying to make sense out of an utterly nonsensical write-up. I am trying. Trust me, I am; like all other 20 year olds out there – I’m trying to stand out.

But I realise that none of this is worth it in the end. Strife, Ambition, Fame, Money “sab mohmaaya hai, beta”, the chaiwaala at my Thadi rightly says. Hahahaha. I laugh it off despite knowing the fact that deep within, we are all waging a deep battle against humanity in the process of becoming humane. We give away friends’ secrets when someone threatens to reveal ours, we betray those who love us in order to move closer to the ones we love, we talk about intolerance but pretend to not have a voice when we need to stand up against crimes, we criticise others before they criticise us, we only respect people with good degrees or enormous wealth, we kill our siblings but expect friends not to betray us, we would rather watch a film than have a cup of coffee with a neighbour. Wow. This is where Health Ledger steps in.

I ain’t trying to be cynical or something, but this is what I think of what he says as the ‘Joker’:

Batman: You’re garbage who kills for money.
Joker: Don’t talk like one of them. You’re not! Even if you’d like to be. To them, you’re just a freak, like me! They need you right now but when they don’t, they’ll cast you out, like a leper! You see, their morals, their code, it’s a bad joke. Dropped at the first sign of trouble. They’re only as good as the world allows them to be. I’ll show you. When the chips are down, these… these civilized people, they’ll eat each other. See, I’m not a monster. I’m just ahead of the curve”.

Nailed it. We are so obsessed with our own lives and needs and concerns that we have obliterated all altruistic concerns from our minds. All we want to do is ‘scheme’ and plan tomorrow. What we don’t realise is that our lives are no longer about now and today, because our now and today is spent thinking about what to do tomorrow. So basically, humanity has ceased to dwell in the present, because we are busy ‘plotting’ the future.

Do I really look like a guy with a plan? You know what I am? I’m a dog chasing cars. I wouldn’t know what to do with one if I caught it. You know, I just… do things. You were a schemer, you had plans, and look where that got you. I just did what I do best. I took your little plan and I turned it on itself. You know… You know what I’ve noticed? Nobody panics when things go “according to plan.” Even if the plan is horrifying! If, tomorrow, I tell the press that, like, a gang banger will get shot, or a truckload of soldiers will be blown up, nobody panics, because it’s all part of the plan. But when I say that one little old mayor will die, well then everyone loses their minds!
Introduce a little anarchy. Upset the established order, and everything becomes chaos. I’m an agent of chaos. Oh, and you know the thing about chaos? It’s fair!”

Simple, haha. Tell me, how is he the villain?  I don’t comprehend. Honestly, to me, he makes more sense than Batman. Ofcourse, he is a murderer , a thief, a criminal whose acts aren’t insignificant felonies that can be pardoned – but he surely strikes a chord. It is our love for mankind that forces us to hate him, but he never said anything wrong.

“Do you want to know why I use a knife? Guns are too quick. You can’t savor all the… little emotions. In… you see, in their last moments, people show you who they really are. So in a way, I know your friends better than you ever did. Would you like to know which of them were cowards?” That is probably why the old adage ‘Live everyday like it were your last’ is so commonplace. Think about it. If today was your last day on Earth, would you spend it cramming up pages of formulae for IIT-JEE, or would you reckon losing a friend over a trivial fright, or would you waste the night cribbing about how you did not get what you deserved; or would you just sit back and do the things you love. Things that matter. Things that make a difference.

why-so-serious-10-things-you-never-knew-about-the-joker-546026

Ohh yes, I just launched my start-up last week and wish to tell you that “if you’re good at something, never do it for free” is another one of those amazing Heath Ledger dialogues that keeps me going at times like these. So, smile at life and take it with a pinch of salt. Don’t succumb to ambitious desires because at the end of the day, you are a mere mortal who is trying to survive in this rat race. DON’T just SURVIVE, LIVE! Do it the Ledger way because “Smile, because it confuses people. Smile, because it is easier than explaining what is killing you inside”.

On that note, I urge you to ponder upon the fact that “whatever doesn’t kill you, simply makes you…stranger”. That’s probably why ‘The Dark Knight’ is one of those films in which the villain overshadowed the hero, because – 

“Heroes are remembered, but knights are never forgotten”. Okay, I am happy now. So, I should probably cut to the chase. Ciao, amigo!

2 thoughts on “Six Burps, Two Coffees and A Tablespoon Of ‘Heath Ledger’.

Leave a Reply

